The BBC Fringe Slam

How It All Works

Poets have been signing up from around the UK since March for a chance to compete in this year's slam. Entrants' names will go into a hat, out of which 24 poets will be chosen. Six poets will compete in each heat, with the winner of each heat advancing to the Grand Final. 


There are three expert judges, each selected from different aspects of the poetry world. These judges will be formally announced shortly.


The heats take place August 24th to 27th from 8:15 pm each night in the BBC tent. The Grand Final occurs August 29th at 8pm in the BBC Bubble. 


Each poet must perform their own work. No props or costumes are permitted.


Each poem may only be used once during the competition.


Each round has a time limit. All time limits are final, no grace periods will be given. Time limits to be announced soon.


The heats are free and non-ticketed, please come and enjoy! The Grand Final is also free, however you must register for tickets in advance as it always sells out. Details for that will be on this page when appropriate.


2015 is the 5th annual BBC Fringe Slam, one of the highlights of the UK spoken word scene. 24 poets from across the UK are invited to compete for the highly coveted title of BBC Slam Champion. They perform their own work and are judged by an expert panel on performance, writing and audience reaction. Past winners have been renowned performer and professional spoken word educator Cat Brogan, one of the founders and stars of the Scottish spoken word scene Jenny Lindsay, former UK Slam Champion David Lee Morgan and current BBC Slam Host Sophia Walker. 

Sara Hirsch, 2014 UK Slam Champion performing at the 2014 BBC Fringe Slam

  • Twitter Square

Follow me on Twitter

  • flickr-square

Follow me on Flicer